A Day With No Sales

It finally happened!

Strangely, I mean that in a good way.

It is a well-understood fact in the game of self-publishing that your biggest boosts in sales will come from new releases. With my release of Kholvaria on May 27th (with some accompanied extra promos at the time), I saw a huge sales pickup – one which started on May 20th and continued for several weeks.

Since then, sales have definitely slowed down. But they have never stopped… until now.

The streak ended July 15th. Zero downloads, zero page reads, zero paperback sales – though July 14th had only one page read, which isn’t really a whole lot different.

Though it may seem like a problem, this length of time is promising. The general rule, as I understand it, is that new sales basically stop after a month. In my case, they certainly slowed down, but did not stop until about a month and 2/3, which is pretty good!

I expect now I’ll just have intermittent sales here and there, like what I used to experience before my big sales boost. I may run another advertisement just to built some momentum up again, but I doubt I’ll be able to get back to the sales numbers I had about a month ago.

In other news, there is little to report on updates to books like Cassidy or Veznek. Progress has been essentially stopped on both due to a new writing commitment (more on that soon), but do not worry! I am confident both books will be released as planned.

Leave a comment