Work Officially Done on “Return to Red One” – Paperback Available Now!

Work is completed on the third and final book of the Pirates of Vexa Prime (or as I’ve been telling people, “Pirates in Space”) trilogy, Return to Red One. The final draft for the kindle version was submitted two days ago and approved this morning and the final draft for the paperback version was submitted this morning! That means all I need to do now is sit back and coast.

The Kindle version is ready for pre-order here (available April 22nd):
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0869R57VN/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_bibl_vppi_i10

The paperback version can be purchased today using this link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0875Z3M1Z?ref_=pe_3052080_397514860

Finishing this book has been a particularly difficult task. When I started writing this book several years ago, I was still partnered with MD Cooper to co-publish the books together. When that fell apart, I promptly obtained the rights to the first two books in the series, which were already written and mostly edited, then published those out in quick succession. At that point, Return to Red One was only partially finished and to say I was sick of dragging out the series was an understatement. After working on that book for two years and dragging my feet with MD Cooper, I got so tired and frustrated with the project (hence why I interrupted working on the project altogether with Apex Predator). But finally, at long last, with ample free-time and a need to get it done, I finished the project and have it out and selling!

I am curious to see how the release of the final book in the series will influence sales of the series as a whole. Up until this point, the Pirates of Vexa Prime series has not been selling as well as I expected. It sells nowhere near as well as Iris or the other books in the Color of Water and Sky series, despite what I would consider an easier title and premise to grasp and a more digestible page-count (each book in Pirates is about half the length of a book in Water and Sky). Therefore I suspect that the incompleteness of the series is a major factor in what has been holding it back.

Since that first week of the coronavirus quarantine, sales have basically reverted back to normal. I had one week of extremely high sales, but it lasted only a week or so, then ended. I expect that was everyone’s immediate panic purchase period. Since then, things have been pretty normal back to pre-coronavirus levels.

Will be Return to Red One be the spark that picks up sales again like they were a month ago? Probably not. But hopefully having a complete three-part series will be enough to get people to want to make a purchase and lead to a few more sales here and there.

If you are looking for some pirate fun, avast ye’ hearties and claim yer’ copy of Return to Red One today! It be better than a chest o’ gold!

Leave a comment